marvel phase 5

SDCC 2022: Marvel Studios Maps Out Phase 5 Titles and Timeline, Concludes Phase 4

Ever since the end of Marvel Studios’ Infinity Saga in 2019, fans and audiences have been wondering what’s next? The current Phase 4 slate of Disney+ streaming shows and slew of movies have throttled on to great success but those looking for deeper narratives have been questioning the overall direction and today at the San Diego Comic Convention, Marvel has outlined the upcoming conclusion of Phase 4, and revealed the slate of Phase 5 films, with include some titles that were previously announced, leaked and speculated on.

Phase 5 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) will begin next year with previously announced Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania on February 17, 2023, and wrap up on July 26, 2024, with the previously rumoured Thunderbolts

In between these 17 months, the following MCU films and TV series will make their appearance:

  • Secret Invasion – Spring 2023 (Disney+)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 – May 5, 2023
  • Echo – Summer 2023 (Disney+)
  • Loki: Season 2 – Summer 2023 (Disney+)
  • The Marvels – July 28, 2023
  • Blade – November 3, 2023
  • Ironheart – Fall 2023 (Disney+)
  • Agatha: Coven of Chaos – Winter 2023/24 (Disney+)
  • Daredevil: Born Again – Fall 2023 (Disney+)
  • Captain America: New World Order – May 3, 2024

This means that the current Phase 4, which includes six movies (Black Widow, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Eternals, Spider-Man: No Way Home, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Thor: Love and Thunder), along with seven Disney+ shows (WandaVision, The Falcon & the Winter Soldier, Loki, What If…?, Hawkeye, Moon Knight, Ms. Marvel), will conclude with the Disney+ series, She-Hulk: Attorney at Law, and Black Panther: Wakanda Forever later this year.


The natural question next is, so? 

These titles don’t really gravitate towards a common theme or narrative, so those wondering about Phase 4 will likely question how Marvel Phase 5 will bring it all together. Well, Marvel Studios also announced Phase 6, and the new story arc post Infinity Sage – The Multiverse Saga.

For those who don’t follow the MCU quite as closely, what we do know is that Marvel Studios has also announced Avengers: The Kang Dynasty for 2 May, 2025. This establishes that Kang, who made his debut in Disney+’s Loki, has and will play heavily in Phase 4 and Phase 5.