Disney’s Hotstar Streaming Service, NOT Disney+, Is Launching In Singapore

A video streaming platform from Disney will be making its way to Singapore’s StarHub Plus service from 1 November but it won’t be Disney+. Instead, it’s Hotstar, Disney’s very own streaming service based in India that focuses on content such as live cricket matches and original movies and TV shows.

Those who wish to have access to the streamer can subscribe to an annual subscription directly via the Hotstar website or Hotstar app on their mobile devices for an annual subscription fee of S$69.98. The service will then be able to be streamed on connected TV devices such as Apple TV or Google Chromecast. Users will be able to hold two concurrent streams with unlimited downloading of shows on their devices.

Advertisement ▼

Additionally, Hotstar will also be available to StarHub’s Indian+ subscribers on a 12 or 24-month contract for no additional charges. Those interested can subscribe to Indian+ via StarHub to get Hotstar access for S$15 a month for a 24-month contract or S$25 a month for a 12-month contract.

Disney’s Hotstar is home to one of India’s most extensive entertainment library, with over 85,000 hours of premium content and more than 2,000 movies and 900 TV shows for audiences to choose from. 

Khuda Haafiz

Some of the films users can expect to find on Hotstar includes Bollywood films such as include Dil Bechara, LootCase, Khuda Haafiz, and actor Akshay Kumar’s Laxxmi Bomb.

“With an extensive range of content, featuring the biggest stars and an unparalleled user experience, Hotstar changed the way Indians consume content, quickly becoming the country’s leading streaming service,” said Amit Malhotra, Regional Lead, Emerging Markets, The Walt Disney Company APAC. “We are excited to launch Hotstar in collaboration with StarHub, and bring the same world-class service to audiences in Singapore.”

To celebrate the launch of Hotstar on 1 November, users will also get free access to the last four league matches from the Dream11 IPL 2020 cricket league from 1 November to 3 November.

Drop a Facebook comment below!

We Are Social