Fortnite’s Newest Endgame Mode Gives Players A Chance To Become Thanos

The Endgame is finally here, both in theatres and in Fortnite.

Fortnite’s new tie-in with Marvel Studios’ Avengers: Endgame doesn’t just come with a limited-time mode, but also plenty of new free challenges and rewards, and Avengers: Endgame themed cosmetic items for players to purchase.

Advertisement ▼

This year’s Endgame mode pits two teams of 20 against one another. On one side you have Team Thanos with his army of gnarly looking purple Chitauri aliens. In Fortnite, the Chitauris have the ability to hover courtesy of special Chitauri jetpacks, and are armed with powerful laser guns.

In the game, the Chitauri have to find the first Infinity Stone, which will drop periodically throughout the game. First player to do so will become Thanos, with a larger health bar, and a powerful punch attack and laser beam. Once Thanos dies, the last player to have found an Infinity Stone will be respawned as Thanos.

Though a formidable foe, the other team, Team Hero, will be equipped with the necessary weapons to deal with the Mad Titan.

At the start of the match, each team member will have a special treasure map that will lead the player to an Avengers-themed weapon. Other Avengers’ weapons can be found in chests around the map.

The weapons that can be found includes,

  • Thor’s Stormbreaker
  • Iron Man’s Gloves
  • Captain America’s Shield
  • Hawkeye’s Bow

These weapons do pretty much what any Avengers’ fan will expect it to do. Thor’s Stormbreaker can be thrown a great distance to destroy structures, Iron Man’s gloves can be used to shoot beam projectiles at enemies, and to hover, while Captain America’s Shield can be hurled to deal damage to an enemy.

Though the Heroes have unlimited respawns and Team Thanos will only have a total of 100 lives. The villain side is capable of initiating an Endgame situation when all six Infinity Stones are collected, taking away the heroes’ respawn capabilities. Hence the heroes will need to make sure that they deplete the Chitauri of their pool of respawns and kill them before all six stones are collected.

Every time someone in Team Thanos finds an Infinity Stone, Thanos gets stronger. Hence, finding all the stones in the shortest amount of time is key to Team Thanos’ success.

Here are the abilities granted by the Infinity Stones, though nowhere near as cool as the one in the movies, it is still extremely useful for Thanos in game,

  • Reality Stone (Red): Heath & Shields doubled (1000 to 2000)
  • Soul Stone (Orange): Siphon activated (grants Thanos shields only)
  • Mind Stone (Yellow): Jump height doubled
  • Space Stone (Blue): Ground Pound AOE size tripled, damage x6
  • Time Stone (Green): Big knockback added to each hit, damage x3
  • Power Stone (Purple): Laser damage x6

By the time the Chitauris have found all the Infinity Stones, Thanos will be one overpowered hulking monster.

Though for now the game seems skewed in favour of Team Thanos, Epic Games has already announced that it will be making some tweaks to the weapons in the Endgame mode to make it more powerful, so as to give the heroes a fighting chance against the Chitauris.

The Endgame mode also features a nice shoutout to Marvel Comics creator Stan Lee.

At the end of every match, no matter which team you are on, and no matter the result of the match, the bottom of your screen will flash ‘Excelsior!’ in a big, bold font to congratulate you for your efforts.

Drop a Facebook comment below!

We Are Social